Merry Christmas!: Decorating Small Spaces

I’ve spent three Christmas’s now in San Francisco in a lovely little apartment where the kitchen is our “living room.”  Each year I lament that, aside from Year One when I strung some lights in my room, I have never really decorated.  So this year I decked the kitchen shelf in an exercise in frugality, holiday spirit and working with small spaces. Here is our merry little San Francisco Christmas.

Our little Christmas tree from Hortica in the Castro

Vintage winter photos from Mystery Mister in the Haight

These photos are from the 1940s.

Yes, I carved this snowman out of styrofoam. He was supposed to live in a homemade snowglobe but he didn't like the water.

This paper chain was made from strips of an old calendar. I felt like a kindergartner again, but with more wine.

Origami "water balloon" boxes: Another craft involving roommates and cocktails.

***

I hope this will inspire you to think outside the (living room) box when it comes to decorating.

Happy holidays to all my friends and family!

  1. very sweet! loved it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

