Vintage Sequin Earrings

I saw some vintage sequin earrings at Paxton Gate in San Francisco and loved their modern shape.  Their designer, Giovanna Torrica, lives in the Bay Area, and I could tell she gets her sequins at General Bead on Minna.  (If you haven’t been to General Bead, oh my god, you are in for one crazy bead clusterf**k.) For less than $15, I picked up enough sequins to make roughly 10 pairs of earrings.  They are so easy to make!  Someday I will take pictures while making jewelry and write a proper tutorial.  Until then here are some pictures of completed pairs.

These blue ones (made with gold-filled wire, crimp beads, and ear-wires) are my favorite.  This style of sequin also comes in black, so I think eventually I’ll make another pair. Giovanna also has a beautiful necklace in her shop using these too.

I like the irregular shapes of these sequins.  FYI: If you use vintage sequins in jewelry or on clothing, you cannot get them wet.  Supposedly they shrivel.  You can buy the original designs here at Giovanna Torrica’s Etsy shop.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

