Adventures in Bottle Cutting

Last Thursday I received my new Bottle Cutter in the mail.  I’ve been thinking a lot about cutting bottles since I discovered this blog post on Design Sponge by Derek and Lauren, the owner’s of The Curiosity Shoppe in San Francisco.  Bottle cutting is easier than you’d think.  It involves etching a straight line around a bottle using a rotary blade, and then splitting the bottle at the score line by alternately heating it over a candle flame and running an ice-cube around it.  Then you smooth the break with sand paper and rinse.  If you’d like to try this yourself, be sure to read Derek and Lauren’s very thorough tutorial.

I cut about two-dozen beer and wine bottles this weekend; we now have an abundance of vases and drinking glasses at my house.  I’ve been saving the top halves of the bottles too, because inverting the top portion into the bottom makes an interesting bud vase.   I think a set of glasses or a vase would make a great house-warming gift.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

